## New Bedford School Committee Policy Manual Review

The New Bedford School Committee, through its Policy Sub Committee, voted to approve the final sections of the new policy manual on February 13, 2017. It is also established that the Committee shall review each section and each policy of the New Bedford Public School Policy Manual on a biannual basis in perpetuity.

The Policy Manual is an expression of the values and preferences of the Committee and thus the community as well. The Policy Manual must be regularly updated and improved upon to fully reflect those values and additionally to comply with all local, state and federal laws governing public education.

Now that the policies, many of which had not been updated in decades, have been fully reviewed, new policies put into practice, and methods for regular updates identified, it is incumbent upon the School Committee and future Policy Sub Committee chairs to keep and maintain this vital document.

In addition to the Sub Committee members and district leaders, the School Committee would like to recognize Lisa Dunaway, Sr. Executive Assistant to the Superintendent and School Committee and Policy Manual Liaison along with James Hardy of the Massachusetts Association of School Committees for their work in ensuring its completion.

The New Bedford School Committee Policy Manual is hereby presented to the School Committee in its entirety on August 14, 2017 having been reviewed and updated by the following School Committee members and school district administrators:

Policy Sub Committee Members
Joshua Amaral, Chairperson
Christopher A. Cotter
Bruce J. Oliveira
Marlene Pollock (former member)

## <u>Administration</u>

Pia Durkin, PhD, Superintendent
Jason DeFalco, EdD, Deputy Superintendent
Kimberli Bettencourt, Ex. Director of Special Education and Student Services
Jonathan Carvalho, Community and Public Affairs Manager (former)
Bernadette Coelho, Headmaster, New Bedford High School
Heather Emsley, Ex. Director of Human Capital Services
Andrew O'Leary, Business Manager
Barry Rabinovitch, PhD, Business Manager (former)
Robert Tetreault, Information Technology Manager
Sonia Walmsley, Ex. Director of Student Access and Pathways